Ask Student Connect

Find quick answers to FAQs about admissions and more!

Simply enter your question below and click "Ask."

Closest match to your question:

What after-degree programs does the U of A offer?

After-degree programs are specially designed programs that require a previous degree to be completed, and are structured to be completed in a shorter timeframe, giving credit for previously completed university-level coursework.

Only certain programs at the U of A can be taken as after-degrees:

Faculty of Arts:*

  • Bachelor of Arts 
  • Bachelor of Arts Honours
  • Bachelor of Design
  • Bachelor of Fine Arts
  • Bachelor of Music

Faculty of Science:*

  • Bachelor of Science (General)
  • Bachelor of Science Specialization
  • Bachelor of Science Honours

Faculty of Nursing:*

  • Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Faculty of Business:

  • Bachelor of Commerce

Faculty of Education:*

  • Bachelor of Elementary Education
  • Bachelor of Secondary Education

Faculty of Native Studies:

  • Bachelor of Arts in Native Studies 

*Not all majors are available as AD programs for certain faculties. For example, the following majors/specializations cannot be taken as part of an after-degree:

  • Planning major (Arts or Science)
  • Criminology (Arts)
  • Environmental Sciences
  • 5-year Education combined programs
  • Psychiatric Nursing

If you are considering taking an after-degree program, we recommend that you speak to an advisor in that faculty before applying.


How helpful was this answer?

Still haven't found the answer you're looking for?

Contact Student Connect using our online form.

Student Connect

Student Connect provides services from the Office of the Registrar to current and prospective undergraduate and graduate students. Services are provided online, by phone, and in person.
Learn more »


Email: Contact Form »
Phone: 780.492.3113
Toll-Free: 1.855.492.3113
Fax: 780.492.7172

If you need your CCID password reset, please call or visit us as we will need to verify your identity over the phone or in person.

Mailing Address:
Administration Building
University of Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
T6G 2M7

Office Hours (MST):
Monday - Tuesday: 8:15 a.m. - 4:15 p.m.
Wednesday: 10 a.m. - 4:15 p.m.
Thursday - Friday: 8:15 a.m. - 4:15 p.m.

Closed for all Canadian public holidays and other university closures.