Ask Student Connect

Find quick answers to FAQs about admissions and more!

Simply enter your question below and click "Ask."

Closest match to your question:

What is Open Studies?

Open Studies is a part-time student classification that allows students to take courses for credit without pursuing a degree program. In Open Studies, you can take up to two courses, or six units of course weight, per term and a maximum of 30 units of course weight over your Open Studies career.

The only requirement for admission to Open Studies is English Language Proficiency. Applications for admission to Open Studies are accepted each term. Deadlines are published in the University of Alberta Calendar under “Open Studies”. The application fee is $125 for new applicants and $75 for former students. It is non-refundable and non-transferable.

Please note that if you have been Required to Withdraw from Open Studies more than once, you are no longer admissible to Open Studies.

After submitting an application for Open Studies, students will receive email notifications at their UAlberta email account from the Office of the Registrar regarding their application. Students must watch their Bear Tracks account for updates.

Visit Open Studies for more information.

How helpful was this answer?

Still haven't found the answer you're looking for?

Contact Student Connect using our online form.

Student Connect

Student Connect provides services from the Office of the Registrar to current and prospective undergraduate and graduate students. Services are provided online, by phone, and in person.
Learn more »


Email: Contact Form »
Phone: 780.492.3113
Toll-Free: 1.855.492.3113
Fax: 780.492.7172

If you need your CCID password reset, please call or visit us as we will need to verify your identity over the phone or in person.

Mailing Address:
Administration Building
University of Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
T6G 2M7

Office Hours (MST):
Monday - Tuesday: 8:15 a.m. - 4:15 p.m.
Wednesday: 10 a.m. - 4:15 p.m.
Thursday - Friday: 8:15 a.m. - 4:15 p.m.

Closed for all Canadian public holidays and other university closures.